Skip to main content

Chesapeake Bay Academy

Search form

You are here

Alan B. Rashkind Selected as the 2019 Eggleston/I’Anson Professionalism Award Winner

Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Alan B. Rashkind, Esq.
Board Trustee, CBA

Congratulations to Alan B. Rashkind, Board Trustee, for being selected the 2019 Eggleston/I’Anson Professionalism Award Winner by the Norfolk & Portsmouth Bar Association.

The Eggleston/I'Anson Professionalism Award is named after former Virginia Supreme Court Chief Justices John W. Eggleston, of Norfolk, and Lawrence W. I'Anson, of Portsmouth. The award honors present and former members of the NPBA who have exemplified the highest standards of professionalism throughout their careers.

A. The award recipient should, over a substantial period of time, have demonstrated:

1. Respect for the law, the judicial system and the legal profession;
2. Respect for clients, court personnel and other counsel; and
3. Honesty, candor, fairness and competence before the Court and with counsel.

B. The award is intended to recognize and honor personal and professional qualities, reputation and conduct. Leadership activities and service within the bar or the community in general, while probative of professionalism, should not be considered essential in the screening and selection process.

C. Pro bono service should be considered in the screening process.

D. Award recipients should be role models for other attorneys, particularly younger attorneys.

A very well-deserved honor!